Racing News

Home > Racing > News > Brass Monkey Round 3 - The Winter Warmer results and Series finale

Brass Monkey Round 3 - The Winter Warmer results and Series finale

by Paul Howard, 28 Jan 24. Results [  ] Photos [ 1» ]

The third and final round of the well-attended Brass Monkeys Winter Series finished on a high with riders treated to a super variation of a Minley course under sunny warm(ish) skies. It was as usual a great mix of singletrack, climbs and open fireroads. Racing was down to the wire in some categories with final podium positions to be hard fought. The top three summaries are listed below and podium photos can be found on Facebook. The final collated Series Points will be posted during the week. Your own race and lap times can be viewed from the Results link above, along with photographs by photographer Paul White.

Now that the Brass Monkeys Series is over, we'd like to take the opportunity to say a massive thanks to Muc-Off for their incredibly generous prizes and their brilliant event support. It was so nice to have them at the events, supporting us all in every way. They'll be popping up at some other events during the year (we'll let you know), and then we're looking forward to working with them again on the next Series.

Our hearty thanks also go to Four4th LED Sports Lights for their iconic trophies sponsorship and to Mountain Trax for their number board sponsorship and ongoing event support. Please support our sponsors when you can in recognition of how they support our sport.

We look forward to seeing you at the three rounds of Spring Classic XC at Highlands Farm on the 18th February, 3rd and 24th March. Entry is open at TicketTailor. There is an option to riders who use the 'Enter all 3 events' facility who will be entered into a prize draw for £100 which will be drawn at Event 1. Look forward to seeing you there.

Amazing Series Prizes from Muc-Off


2hr Junior Male

  1. Tom Norris (144 points)
  2. Olly Webb (129)
  3. Alfie Haydon - Wightlink / Wight Mountain (125)

2hr Female 14-39

  1. Lexi Brown (141)
  2. Natalie Wood - Bedgebury Forest Cycle Club (117)
  3. Bex Cleary (100)

2hr Male 18-39

  1. Luke Peyton - Four4th Lights (150)
  2. Nicholas Earley - Wightlink / Wight Mountain (128)
  3. Rikki Knowlton - Team Scoopy Banoopy / Pepsi Max Racing (105)

2hr Female 40+

  1. Rachel Clay (144)
  2. Liz Kemp - Pronto Bikes (124)
  3. Helen Webb - Pine Sport (118)

2hr Male 40+

  1. Mike Tomlinson - South Fork Racing (132)
  2. Mark Taylor - GS Mossa (120)
  3. Chris Hunt - BE Tours (115)

3hr Male 50+

  1. Lewis King - Rotor Race Team (150)
  2. Chris Lockyear - Blazing Saddles (141)
  3. Mark Bainbridge (124)

3hr Open 18+

  1. David McDonald (144)
  2. Andy Richardson (141)
  3. Luke Sheffield - Bedgebury Forest Cycle Club (124)

4hr Male 18-39

  1. Scott Chappell - PedalOn (144)
  2. William Gell (133)
  3. Will Dixon - Witney Velo (129)

4hr Male 40+

  1. Richard Freshwater - Hunt Wheels (147)
  2. Richard Penning (124)
  3. Jon Heasman - Vittoria Tyres (101)

4hr Singlespeed

  1. Mike Richman - EventRex (141)
  2. Dave Brown - Ridgeway Cycles (138)
  3. Andrew Tucker - Velo Clinic (124)

4hr Female 18+

  1. Karen Price - Team JMC (150)
  2. Anneke Prins (119)